I’m Not Trying To Cause A Big Sensation (Talking About My Generation)

Being home makes me feel nostalgic.

However, I very often find myself wishing that I could have grown up in a different generation. Not because I hate the world or anything like that, but simply because the 70s and 80s were just cool. The styles, the music, and the general way of life must have been something to see.

I was digging through some of my old stuff the other day and found my old Hit Clip. Now apart from still playing a solid minute of “Who Let The Dogs Out?” it made me realize the 90s were pretty cool too, and that is a time I did live through. Though it doesn’t seem that long ago, I am finding myself 20 years down the road thinking about how different of a time it was back then. I can’t even remember what life was like before I could just Google every little thing that poped into my mind, but Google wasn’t even created until the late 90s. Not to mention there was no Facebook or anything else when we were kids, well younger kids. It is crazy how fast social media has taken over the world, but I digress.

The point I am trying to make is that it was awesome being a 90s kid! I miss the days where I could come home in my overalls, check if my Tamagotchi was still alive, watch the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, and eat a push pop while I shamelessly jammed out to the latest N*SYNC hit on my Hit Clip. Then I would cuddle up under my covers with my Beanie Babies and dive into a Goosebumps Book or when I got a little older Harry Potter. (We are the Harry Potter generation like what is better than that?! There was nothing like going to a book store at midnight to get the latest Harry Potter book only to rush home and disregarding all sleeping, eating, and human contact for a few days until you finished it only to begin re-reading the entire series)

So no matter how much I wish I could go back and see all four of the Beatles or say ‘groovy’ in normal conversation or just sit on the hood of a car and listen to Journey records after school, I am really glad that I got to grow up in the 90s. Like every decade before it, it had a life of its own and there was simply nothing like it!

About lwest0314

Public Relations student at Texas Tech University. I hope to one day work in the entertainment industry! *fingers crossed* I play the flute and the piccolo in the marching band, watch way too much television, and live online. I started this blog last year to shed some light on the things I deem sheddable, so enjoy!

Leave a Reply

